Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds
Hard Side: Hell Hound – Release the Hounds
By Zane Ewton

The press release for Hell Hound’s debut album Release the Hounds explains that, “Hell Hound’s sound is like none of their contemporaries.  They take the classic 80’s metal style of bands like W.A.S.P., KISS and Motley Crue and update that with today’s metal sound.”
From the songs to the face makeup, there is a definite love of KISS within this band.  Unfortunately, they don’t have the songs or the style.  It is affirming to see a band trying something a little different from the current musical climate, but Release the Hounds is a far step from reclaiming the bygone era of 80’s metal.  Hell Hound needs to ditch the makeup or get a more uniform look.  The bass player looks like he has a bloody nose, the guitar player has the same white face, black eye shadow that most “death metal” bands have and the drummer has hardly enough makeup on to disguise his secret identity.
But the focus should be on the songs.  Release the Hounds is full of similar sounding, plodding songs that lack energy or invention.  Hell Hound have a lot to work with, maybe they should get cracking.

CD Info 

Hell Hound – Release the Hounds
1. release the hounds
2. on your trail
3. rocks lone warrior
4. hillbillys from hell
5. outhouse blues
6. you wanna dance
7. one more look at you
8. bright lights, summer nights
9. 'til tonight
10. ftgdw
11. little war machine
12. only heroes dare
13. standing at the crossroads
14. scream it out
15. sands of time
16. good old days
17. bottle by my bed
Listen to samples and Purchase this CD online

Want More ?

tell a friend about this article

What Do You Think?

Fanspeak removed due to spam and abuse


News Reports
Day in Rock:
Lamb Of God's Mark Morton Streams Chester Bennington Collaboration- Rush Members To Make Special Appearance- Unreleased David Bowie Tracks In New Collection- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock

. .


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.