Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds
Killer CDs: Fantomas - Suspended Animation 
By Brad Podray

I’ll get right to the point: Suspended Animation is a merry-go-round ride through a cartoon-filled wonderland that sits on the outskirts of hell.  The entire album centers around the theme of April(yes, the month of April) and pays tribute to cartoon music composition in a way that only Fantomas can provide for the listener.  Bombastic, hard, and just plain loony are just a few of the terms that can be used to describe this album.  With a barrage of hard instrumentation and Mike Patton’s astounding manipulation of his voice, it’s an eccentric album on all accounts.  In fact. the album artwork included when you purchase the disc is a 30 page calendar done by Japanese pop cartoonist, Yoshimoto Nara.  

 For those of you not familiar with Fantomas, a brief explanation is necessary: To the untrained ear, it sounds like chaos, yet to the trained music critic, it’s still chaos.  Yet, unlike the type of chaos that causes your cat to explode while your legs turn into jam for no reason, this is the type of chaos produced by a finely tuned group of musicians with discipline and control.  The band’s previous works have been equally lauded with praise and despised amongst the music community for what can only be described as “the-most-unpredictable-song-structures-ever.” 

In Suspended Animation, Fantomas combines gnashing guitars with-light melodic moments and cartoon sound effects with ambient synthesis with real singing and vocal sound effects combined with noise combined with strings combined with samples from cartoons combined with more chaos perhaps combined with opera samples and…well, you get the point.  Highlighting tracks specifically for this review would be a lesson in futility, as to describe any of these tracks appropriately would be next to impossible.  Though no two tracks are alike whatsoever, the general theme is one of cutting-edge-rock-craziness.  You’ll hear everything from a telephone busy signal to heavy metal to children(or what sound like children) singing.  All of the track names are a date in April of ’05 and few clock in at over 2 minutes.  Although this particular reviewer tries very hard to avoid using stupid writing clichés like “this album takes you on a ride,” such description cannot be avoided when it comes to Suspended Animation.  Each track is its own journey, whether you’re cruising along and suddenly you’re assaulted randomly by heavy guitar licks from all sides like in 4/32/05 or riding a “wacky” train that’s come off its tracks and descended into some animated netherworld where predictability is a forgotten concept(like in 4/30/05, that album’s longest track, which clocks in at 3:08).  

Sure to please: Mr. Bungle fans, Fantomas fans, basically any fan of Mike Patton.

Sure to disappoint: People who like predictability in songs.  People who like to understand the words in music.  People who don’t like to hear Mike Patton make crazy noises with his voice.

CD Info 

Fantomas - Suspended Animation
Label: Ipecac Records
Release Date: 04/05/05 

Want More ?

tell a friend about this article

What Do You Think?

Fanspeak removed due to spam and abuse


News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Muse Release New Video 'Something Human'- Def Leppard Streaming Unexpected Cover- Billy Joel Jams With Bruce Springsteen At Milestone Concert- David Bowie Box Set- more

• Day in Pop Dead & Company Hit Milestones On Summer Tour- Uli Jon Roth Announces 50th Anniversary Tour Dates- Unseen And Heard Leonard Cohen 1972 Tour Rediscovered- more

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.